Chickens

Well, my luck hasn’t been so great.

We started out with 14 chickens from the original flock and added in 10 others. This was actually more than anticipated but..you know, chicken math.

First, we lost a Silkie. No sign of entrance, a struggle.. nothing. It just vanished into thin air. By that, I mean a hawk likely got it. Afterwards, 3 more silkies left the farm to move on to their new home.

Right after that, I won a raffle for 9 Olive Eggers! How exciting! Except she had an issue with 2 and sent 9 OE’s and 2 Svart Hona’s. I thought the Svart Honas were creepy, I won’t lie. But they’re so pretty! Anyway. Two little chicks perished on the way to our house and one was really weak. The weak one made it about two days and passed as well. I did all I could and he looked like he was improving but… no. This was the first time I’d actually lost one and it really sucked. I felt like a bad chicken mom. So we’re down to 8 babies.

The Silkies ( and 3 OE’s) were traded for 4 Americuana’s and a Lavendar Orpington!

Confused yet? Now we are at 6 originals, 3 Silkies, 3 OEs, 4 Americauna’s, 2 Svart Honas, and a Lavendar Orpington.

One of my Americauna’s just…dropped dead out of nowhere. Cue extreme guilt. I talked to the girl I did the trade with (she also got some) and hers of the same color did as well..and I know she’s a good chicken momma. So..it was something with them that was already an issue I guess. Still sucks.

About a week or 2 later, I noticed another one of my Americauna’s developed scissor beak and it was bad. She was eating and drinking pretty good though, I kept an eye on her. Seemed happy as a little lark. Dropped dead.

Cue more guilt. Do I even want chickens anymore? They’re just going to die.

Husband gave me a pep talk and I snapped out of it. Now, I have the 6 originals, 3 Silkies, 3 OE’s, 2 Americauna’s, 2 Svart Honas, and the Lavendar Orpington. Everyone now seems happy..and mostly healthy. One of my OE’s hasn’t really grown in size but is getting her feathers in. I guess she’s just going to be a runt? But everyone else is good. The little ones got their outdoor area expanded recently. We’re in the planning stages of an upgrade for the big guys.

That’s all for now! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

